Halloween Part 3 The Murica Adventure

As many of you know, I left Alaska with dreams of moving back to Grand Cayman. I flew from Alaska to Canada to spend time with Nick while we worked it all out. Slowly and steadily it’s getting there.

My good friend Mandy Lane and I decided to make the most out of our Halloween night, and planned a party night in the small ski town of Whitefish, Montana. We had heard Halloween would be huge there, and we were hoping the rumors would be true. First I had to take an eleven hour Greyhound bus from Kelowna to where Mandy lived in Fernie, British Colombia. Fernie is a small but very charming town and I loved it! There are cute shops along the main street and snow covered mountains that surround the town, and everyone in town was talking about the upcoming ski season. I would move there but you know the whole Canada/America work visa blah blah blah. On Halloween Mandy drove us down to Whitefish for the big night. Whitefish is  only about an hour and half away from Fernie, and when we arrived we were ecstatic to see hundred of kids dressed up walking store to store trick or treating. It was like the town was made to celebrate Halloween!

DSCN4204

Raggedy Ann and Senorita Dia de Los Muertos

We had a cheap lunch (damn Canada has been expensive) and went to the hostel to prepare for the big night. Did I mention that Mandy is the Halloween queen? Seriously, when it comes to costumes you should see this girl go. Back in Fernie she helped make costumes for some good friends, Dorothy and the flying monkey, but the best was her hand made Raggedy Ann and voodoo doll Andy. I opted to use the same costume I did for the annual party to save time and money. I also looked awesome in my Dia de los Muertos costume.

DSCN4209

Dead Mario and Medusa at the Whitefish Hostel

Getting ready is ALWAYS the best part of going out. We made friends at the hostel with dead Mario and Luigi, Medusa, and the best Can Can girl out there. She literally had cans of beer under her skirt (cheap way to drink at the bar). Every bar was packed with witches and vampires. So we settled into one bar with a modest entry fee and well, the rest of the night went down in a pretty typical Halloween party night. Everyone had fun and made it back to the hostel safely whether we remember it or not.

We took off the next afternoon and headed home, er, I mean back to Canada. The border control asked us the regular questions “do you have anything to declare, etc, etc”, and then this string of Ebola questions. “Have you been to any Ebola effected countries?”, and I caught myself before blurting out “yea, we are just coming back from the states.”

So thanks for the party Montana, but I was just passing through!

Do you think this Ebola paranoia is getting out of hand or is it justified?

Leave a comment