Awesome Texas: Passing Through The Capital City

There is no doubt that Austin is an amazing city! With world famous music festivals, taco trucks that inspire Food Network television shows, and organic hipster coffee shops, it’s no wonder why its one of the fastest growing areas in the united states. And I think I may be the only person who has moved away from this city, rather than to it.

Its unusual for an Austinite to ask, “Is there be any place better to live than here?” The answer is yes, but it’s somewhere where palm trees grow. I always say if Austin was located in the caribbean, I would never have left. But the ocean has always been calling my name, and Port A doesn’t really count. The Texas coast has brown water, seaweed covered beaches, and disturbing amounts of jellyfish. I did however enjoy an adventures spring break in South Padre senior year of university!

LeAnn-Spring Break 171

Spring break 2008 with my besties

When I’m home in Austin, I love hanging out around town. Austin has this amazing phenomenon in which you can walk into a building that looks deserted or condemned, and find a hip coffee shop complete with Japanese paper lanterns and food that’s oozing Tex-Mex goodness. And as far as fashion is concerned, anything goes! I just watched a dude with a cowboy hat/skinny jeans combo order a coffee. While dressing this morning, I didn’t feel self conscious about wearing my cropped leggings with moose print Alaska socks sticking out from my moms imitation Uggs. I’ve come to terms with the fact that my mom will always have a more fashionable and better stocked wardrobe than my traveler lifestyle will allow.

190664_529489208016_6912702_n

The capital building is a must stop on a tour of the city. Take the free tour to get schooled on our states history.

216866_536357813276_7143507_n

With ACL, SXSW, LoneStar Jam, and The Free Texas Music series, I’m never short on entertainment in this city!

So what’s the down side to being from an amazing city? I don’t think I’ll ever afford to move back, even if I wanted to. Austin has become so popular that housing is an issue unless you have large sums of money to drop on rent. Not to mention the crazy traffic that this small city doesn’t know how to handle. I can’t say that I dislike the increased population of this city because some of the coolest friends I have here are new Austinites. Austin is awesome, and I’m glad you found it!

GreetinsAustin

A famous mural in South Austin, that has recently been restored

Thanks Austin for the peanut butter chocolate smoothie with soy milk, but I’m just passing through!

Leave a comment